The Hon Scott Morrison MP.
Inbox.News digital newspaper topper logo
2 years ago
The Hon Scott Morrison MP
The quest to find Australia’s top scientists, innovators and science teachers is on again with nominations opening for this year’s Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.
From pure research to innovative commercial applications to teaching excellence, the prizes recognise our best and brightest.
This year nominating is easier than ever, to ensure as many nominations as possible.
Nominations close on 12 March, with $750,000 in prize money to be distributed across seven categories.
The main prizes for Science and Innovation are each worth $250,000. Five other prizes of $50,000 each recognise early to mid-career researchers, innovators working towards commercialising their research and science teachers - in both primary and secondary schools.
Previous recipients include Emeritus Professor Kurt Lambeck, awarded the $250,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science last year for his work transforming our understanding of our living planet, and Dr Lee Berger who took out the $50,000 Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year for her work solving the mystery of frog extinction.
Our Government recognises the importance of science and technology as key drivers of Australia’s economy, and the jobs of the future. That’s why we invested $2.4 billion in Australia’s research, science and technology capabilities in last year’s Budget, underscored by a $1.9 billion investment to update our National Research Infrastructure – ensuring our ongoing strength in these sectors generates more jobs and higher living standards for all Australians.
To nominate someone you need to hold a professional qualification in a similar field as your nominee, get their agreement and their CV, and submit 500 words on why they deserve a prize.
For more information visit
Industry, Innovation and Science