New commissioners appointed to lead AFMA

Senator Jonathon Duniam.
Inbox.News digital newspaper topper logo
4 years ago
New commissioners appointed to lead AFMA
Senator Jonathon Duniam
The Australian Fisheries and Management Authority (AFMA) has welcomed four new part-time commissioners, bringing with them a range of expertise in fisheries management.
Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries, Senator Jonathon Duniam said the new commissioners will play an important shared leadership role at the head of AFMA.
“It is important we have the right people to drive the work of AMFA so we can continue to have some of the world’s best managed fisheries,” Minister Duniam said.
“The new part-time commissioners have all the credentials and share a strong background in fisheries management and will work hard to improve Australia’s domestic fisheries, apply strong governance and appropriately exercise the functions and powers of the authority.”
“I formally welcome Mr Brett McCallum, Ms Sevaly Sen, Dr David Smith and Mr Scott Spencer who will commence in their roles as of today.”
Mr Brett McCallum has expertise in commercial fishing and pearling and extensive involvement with related industry and government bodies.
Ms Sevaly Sen has worked across the fisheries and aquaculture sectors for 30 years, including fisheries management, industry operations and Indigenous fishing matters, working on issues such as sustainability, structural adjustment and priority research coordination.
Dr David Smith brings extensive experience in fisheries science, including assessment and management of fish stocks, harvest strategies, sustainable marine environment management and marine system policies.
Mr Scott Spencer has worked across a broad range of fields, including natural resource management in government roles, and public sector administration and governance, including management of commercial and recreational fisheries and a focus on sustainability.
In addition to the new appointments, Ms Catherine Cooper—with more than 20 years’ experience in non-executive director roles across agriculture and fisheries, and expertise in fisheries management and corporate/commercial law—will stay on for an additional three year term to provide continuity for the commission.
Minister Duniam said the appointments would support AFMA's ongoing work to ensure Australia continues to be a global leader in fisheries management.
“The commissioners will help AFMA fulfil the critical role it plays in helping Australian fisheries improve profitability and returns,” Minister Duniam said.
“I am pleased to welcome the new appointments and would like to thank the outgoing commissioners for their valuable contributions to Australian fisheries.”
The outgoing AFMA commissioners include Ms Renata Brooks, Mr Ian Cartwright, Prof Keith Sainsbury and Mr Richard Stevens OAM.
Agriculture and Water Resources