The Hon Scott Morrison MP.
Inbox.News digital newspaper topper logo
4 months ago
The Hon Scott Morrison MP
Today, I am announcing the appointment of three new secretaries of Australian Public Service departments, following the Governor-General’s acceptance of my recommendations.
Ms Kathryn Campbell AO CSC has been appointed the Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Mr Ray Griggs AO CSC has been appointed the Secretary of the Department of Social Services and Ms Katherine Jones PSM has been appointed the Secretary of the Attorney-General’s Department. 
Ms Campbell will commence on 22 July 2021 following the retirement of Ms Frances Adamson AC. Ms Campbell has an outstanding record in public service and has served as Secretary of the Department of Human Services from 2011 to 2017 and as Secretary of the Department of Social Services since September 2017. 
Ms Campbell has also held senior roles in the Australian Army Reserve, being the first woman appointed to the rank of Major General. She was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross in 2010 for outstanding achievement as the Commanding Officer of the Sydney University Regiment. Ms Campbell also held Deputy Secretary roles in the Finance and Education portfolios.
Mr Griggs will also commence on 22 July 2021. Mr Griggs has led the National Indigenous Australians Agency with distinction since his appointment as its inaugural Chief Executive Officer on 1 July 2019. Prior to that appointment, he was the Associate Secretary of the Indigenous Affairs Group of PM&C. 
Mr Griggs was the Chief of Navy and Vice Chief of the Defence Force between 2014 and 2018 as part of a long and successful Defence career. Mr Griggs was appointed as an Officer in the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the Australian Defence Force as Deputy Head Strategic Reform and Governance, Deputy Chief of Joint Operations, and Chief of the Royal Australian Navy.
Ms Jones will commence on 16 August 2021. The position of Secretary has been vacant since Mr Chris Moraitis PSM was appointed as Director-General of the Office of the Special Investigator in January 2020.
Currently Associate Secretary of the Department of Defence, Ms Jones has previously held Deputy Secretary positions in the Department of Finance and the Attorney-General’s Department, including as the Deputy Secretary responsible for National Security, Criminal Justice and Emergency Management. Ms Jones received a Public Service Medal in 2017 for outstanding public service in the area of national security and emergency management.
I congratulate Ms Campbell, Mr Griggs and Ms Jones on their appointments. I have every confidence that they will lead by example and ensure the Australian Public Service continues to play an integral role in our nation’s COVID-19 recovery and provide high-quality services to all Australians. All three appointments are for a period of five years.
Prime Minsters' Office